Korg Kronos X unveiled at Summer NAMM 2012

Korg Kronos X music workstation was unveiled at Summer NAMM 2012, it is the upgraded version of the popular Kronos workstation.

Korg Kronos X

Kronos X features Kronos OS version 2.0 software and comes with larger 2GB of RAM and a larger SSD with support for additional SSD.


This improved synthesizer keyboard comes with nine sound engines that include traditional piano, electric piano, tonewheel organ, digital synthesis and a built-in analog/physical modeling engine.

The X in its label indicates that the music workstation has expanded features, and to start off, its sampling RAM has been doubled to 2GB. It comes with a larger 62 GB solid-state hard drive (or SSD) for storing and accessing your sample libraries, and the new OS 2.0 supports adding another SSD for even more storage capacity.

The SSD comes with demo versions of Korg's EXs expansion libraries ready for you to try. You can expand your library by purchasing the full versions at Korg's webshop. The new Kronos X will also be powerful enough to let you load more libraries to give you even more sounds available for your performance. If you want to make your own library, Kronos X will assist you with its User Sample Bank feature. You can also use the various artist signature sounds that popular keyboard players have created.

Another highlighted feature of the new Kronos X is its ability to allow all sound engines to function together in harmony. You can also apply up to 16 effects simultaneously with 12 insert type effects, 2 mastering effects and 2 total effects.

Korg Kronos X

Other upgrade features:

  • Sequencer can handle up to 16 MIDI tracks + 16 audio tracks (24-bit, 48kHz recording quality)
  • New Open Sampling System – Instant sampling and resampling from any mode: Program, Combination or Sequencer.
  • KARMA technology generates infinitely variable performance-driven phrases, musical effects, and backing tracks.
  • Expanded Drum Track for play-along grooves and inspiration
  • Set List mode lets you organize what you need to perform your set in a single, easy-to-select screen that comes with performance notes!
  • Smooth Sound Transition: this often-requested feature allows held or sustained notes to keep sounding when changing sounds or modes.
  • Supports Korg pad-equipped USB controllers, including the nanoPAD, nanoPAD2, padKONTROL;
  • General support for all class-compliant USB controllers, including the Korg nano series and microKEY series
  • Support for the Kronos Editor and Plug-in Editor software
  • USB Ethernet adapter compatibility for high-speed data communication between the Kronos X and your computer.
  • Kronos X is Available with 61, 73 or 88 keys
  • The 73 and 88 key models feature Korg’s finest RH3 Graded Hammer Action.
  • Comprehensive interface, based around a large 8” TFT TouchView™ display

The new flagship music workstation of Korg is expected to be available on the third quarter of 2012. Here are the anticipated US Street prices for Korg Kronos X models: 61-Key ($3199), 73-Key ($3699) and the 88-Key ($3999).

You can watch the official product demo video below:

For more information and for the complete specifications of the Korg Kronos X, you can visit Korg.

Related News:
/ Looking for Affordable MIDI Keyboards?
Korg iDS-10 Synthesizer App
Studiologic Numa Organ 2
Korg Kross Mobile Synthesizer
Another Korg Synth made our "Best of Winter NAMM 2013" list
MiniNova - Compact Performance Synth
Korg microMadness Video Contest

Share This Article